Ensemble SCALA

A microtonal ensemble

Ensemble SCALA is the new ensemble for microtonal music initiated by the Huygens-Fokker Foundation. Its purpose is to let audiences experience microtonality with a whole scala of timbres, using the Fokker organ as part of a larger ensemble for the first time.
The cast of Scala is Fokker organ, microtonal guitar, viola, flute, clarinet, master keyboards and percussion. The musicians are all specialists in the area of microtonal music, and will explore the boundaries of the colourful 31-tone tuning of the Fokker organ in this combination. The ensemble concerns itself primarily with four important microtonal systems: 31-tone, 24-tone and 19-tone temperaments and just intonation, but mostly with 31-tone equal temperament.

The name of the ensemble originates from the software programme for microtonal music of the same name by Manuel Op de Coul which has an international reputation.


Ensemble SCALA consists of the following seven musicians:

Raymond Honing - flute

Michel Marang - clarinet

Manuel Visser – viola

Stefan Gerritsen - 31-tone guitar

Keiko Shichijo - piano & master keyboards

Ere Lievonen - Fokker organ

Adam Jeffrey - percussion





There will be new works, compositions combined with a form of improvisation, and existing music from the 16th and 17th centuries.




















You can make ticket reservations at the Muziekgebouw.
Tickets include a drink after the concert in the Star Ferry restaurant of the Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ.




Zondag 28 november 2010 | 11 uur | BAM Zaal, Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ

Prijzen: € 13,00 Normaal | € 10,50 Stadspas | € 10,50 CJP

www.muziekgebouw.nl/agenda/1261 | www.huygens-fokker.org

www.ensemblescala.com | www.ensemblescala.nl


René Samson  -  31 steps to heaven (2010, première)

John Dowland / Jacob van Eyck  -  Pavaen Lacrimae (1612)

John Bull  -  Fantasia (1613)

Steffen Krebber  -  Zerscheinen (2010, première)

Steffen Krebber - zimzum (2010)

Nicola Vicentino - Musica prisca caput (1555)

Gioanpietro del Buono  -  Sonata V sopra Ave Maris Stella, Fuga Cromatica (1641)

Ned McGowan  -  Solar Neon (2010, première)



This concert is sponsored by: Het Nederlands Fonds voor Podiumkunsten+, the Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds, SNS REAAL Fonds and the Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ. See the sponsors





Ensemble SCALA during a rehearsal