February 25, 2018  |  Anne Veinberg, Ere Lievonen & Ernestine Stoop

Concert Fokker organ | 2018-02-25, 11.00 hours | Small Hall - Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ, Amsterdam

Fokker versus Carrillo

Julián Carrillo (1875-1965) and Adriaan Fokker (1887-1972) both devoted their lives to microtones, but they each came out on a completely different tone system. The Mexican Carrillo, whom Fokker met in 1958 at the UNESCO Congress in Paris, divided the octave in 96 minute steps, called the Sonido trece system (the thirteenth tone). For all his efforts in this area he received a lot of recognition during his lifetime, including even a nomination for the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1950. Fokker, however, divided the octave into 31 small steps per octave, based on the meantone tuning and Christiaan Huygens' ideas. These two systems are incompatible on paper and yet the instruments that have been specially built for these two different tunings turn out to sound perfectly together in practice. The tones of the 31-tone organ can easily be found on the 96-tone piano, or the Carrillo-piano, which is also in the possession of the Huygens-Fokker Foundation and will be played by pianist Anne Veinberg. Special is also that the known harpist Ernestine Stoop will be a guest with her rare Carrillo harp. She had this instrument, which actually looks more like a zither, built especially for herself. The Fokker organ will be played by the highly experienced Fokker-organist Ere Lievonen. The program includes a new work by Sander Germanus for Carrillo-piano and Fokker organ, entitled 'Morpheus'. Furthermore, compositions from the repertoire of these special microtonal instruments will be played, including works by both Fokker and Carrillo. The battle between the two microtonal systems will also be translated into a spectacular impro-battle, performed by the musicians together. And last but not least, a new work for all three instruments by Matthias Kadar!

You can order tickets at the box office of the Muziekgebouw.


www.muziekgebouw.nl/agenda/6673/  >>>
Sunday 25 February 2018, 11.00 hours | Small Hall, Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ
Prices: € 12,50 Normal | € 10,00 Stadspas | € 10,00 CJP
www.muziekgebouw.nl | www.huygens-fokker.org




Anne Veinberg, Carrillo piano & Fokker organ

Ere Lievonen, Fokker organ & Carrillo piano

Ernestine Stoop, Carrillo harp




Juhani Nuorvala - Kaiho (2017)

Sander Germanus - Morpheus (2017) premiere

Julián Carrillo - solo works for Carrillo harp

Brechtje van Dijk - Manoeuvre (2016)

Hans Kox - from 'Passacaglia en koraal voor 31-toonsorgel' (1960)

Adriaan Fokker - solo works for Fokker organ

Matthias Kadar - ‘Hangszon’ (2018) premiere

Joint improvisation



This concert is made possible by the support of:  Prins Bernhard CultuurfondsAmsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst, Olga Heldring FoundationGemeente Amsterdam (district East) and Stichting Fonds voor de Geld- en Effectenhandel.

Also the Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds (renovation Fokker organ), the SNS REAAL Fonds (renovation Fokker organ) and the Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ. Show our sponsors