November 29, 2015  |  Ensemble SCALA

Concert Fokker organ | 2015-11-29, 11.00 hours | Small Hall - Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ, Amsterdam

SCALA's Spectrum

During the opening concert of MicroFest Amsterdam 2015, a one-day festival for microtonal music, Ensemble SCALA kicks off with a program full of premieres. New works by Danny de Graan, Eric Verbugt and the German composer Joachim Schneider will frame a few short compositions. Also on the program is a reprise of Scala I by Peter Adriaansz. The wide sound spectrum of Ensemble SCALA, with the Fokker organ as a part of them, will be illuminated during the entire concert and in all its diversity. How do the overtones of a flute or a clarinet sound? Or microtones on a viola or a guitar? All these questions will be answered in a very adventurous and musical way.

Ensemble SCALA is an ensemble for microtonal music in the Netherlands initiated by the Huygens-Fokker Foundation (centre for microtonal music) in 2010. Remarkable is that the unique Fokker organ is part of this ensemble. The musicians are all specialists in the field of contemporary music, who jointly explore the colorful borders of microtonality. Over the past five years, the ensemble has built up a broad repertoire of works by composers from
The Netherlands and abroad, composed many different musical styles. With unconventional tunings as focal point, Ensemble SCALA focuses on the growing interest of composers worldwide in microtones as a new way to express themselves artistically.

Tickets can be ordered at the box office of the Muziekgebouw.   >>>
Sunday 13 September 2015, 11.00 hours | Small Hall, Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ
Prices: € 12,50 Normal | € 10,00 Stadspas | € 10,00 CJP |



Ensemble SCALA

Raymond Honing, flute

Michel Marang, clarinet

Manuel Visser, viola

Stefan Gerritsen, 31-tone guitar

Anne Veinberg, Carrillo-piano & keyboards

Ere Lievonen, Fokker organ

Glenn Liebaut, percussion



Danny de Graan (1973) - In the Blink of an Eye (2015)    premiere

Nicola Vicentino (1511-c.1576) - III. Dolce mio ben (1555)
                                             IV. Madonna, il poco dolce (1555)

Peter Adriaansz (1966) - Scala I (2012/2013)

Eric Verbugt (1966) - earth (2015)    premiere

Giovanni Battista Orazi (?-1804) - Grave & Allegro, from Trio I (1797)
                                              arr. Ere Lievonen (2015)

Joachim F.W. Schneider (1970) - Unruh (2015)   premiere


NB. The work of Peter Adriaansz and Danny de Graan were financially supported by the Performing Art Fund Netherlands (Fonds Podiumkunsten).




This concert is made possible by the support of:

Stichting Dioraphte Amsterdams Fonds voor de KunstVan den Berch van Heemstede StichtingStichting Fonds voor de Geld- en Effectenhandel.

Also the Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds (renovation Fokker organ), the SNS REAAL Fonds (renovation Fokker organ) and the Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ. Show our sponsors