The Bohlen-Pierce Site
Manuscript of December 1972

This page has been modified last on September 8, 2008


Versuch über den Aufbau eines tonalen Systems
auf der Basis einer 13-stufigen Skala

H. Bohlen

Manuscript, Hamburg, Dec. 1972
Original archived at
Huygens-Fokker Foundation (Stichting Huygens-Fokker), Amsterdam.

This paper is based on mathematical and psycho-acoustic considerations that the author has described in earlier notes. Consequently, he calls it "Zusammenfassung" (summary). A new aspect, however, is now clearly dominating his view of the subject: tonality. He is struggling with the tonal relationships of his new scales, though. This becomes evident by the fact that he has renamed the two diatonic scales that are mentioned in this paper: "Dur" (major) is the scale that was named "Moll I" (minor I) in his previous notes, and vice versa the earlier "Dur I" has become "Moll".