October 2, 2016 | Maarten Havinga, Fokker organ

Concert Fokker organ | 2016-05-22 - 11.00 hours | Small Hall - Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ, Amsterdam

In the spirit of Huygens

The famous physicist Christiaan Huygens invented the 31-tone tuning in 1691 and published about it in his 'Lettre touchant le cycle harmonique'. But what was the purpose of his invention? And what impact could this have on the future of music as his invention would have been spread more widely? During this concert music from the era of Huygens as well as the following centuries will be played on the 31-tone organ. All works from the baroque, classical and romantic period will be provided with the meantone tuning. Also a new work by the young composer/trombonist Iris Tjoonk will be premiered this morning. The unique Fokker organ will be played by the young and talented organist Martin Havinga, who recently showed his affinity with new fresh sounds and microtones. With his enthusiasm he will take the listener on a search for music which in theory might have sounded during the past centuries.





www.muziekgebouw.nl/agenda/Concerten/5123/_   >>> 
Sunday 2 October 2016, 11.00 hours | Small Hall, Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ
Prices: € 12,50 Normal | € 10,00 Stadspas | € 10,00 CJP
www.muziekgebouw.nl | www.huygens-fokker.org




Maarten Havinga, Fokker organ

Iris Tjoonk, trombone




Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) - Kleines Harmonisches Labyrinth (1714)

D. Buxtehude (1637-1707) - Canzona d-moll (BuxWV 168)

Henk Badings (1907-1987) - Reeks van Kleine Klankstukken: III Scherzo (1954)

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) - Herzliebster Jesu, was hast du verbrochen, Opus 122 (1896)

Cesar Franck (1822-1890) - Petit Offertoire (1885)

Ernst Pepping (1901-1981) - Jesus Christus herrscht als könig

                                       Soll ich meinem Gott nicht singen (from Kleines Orgelbuch, 1940)

Iris Tjoonk (1992) - Titanes (2016)  premiere

Max Reger (1873-1916) - Freu dich sehr, o meine Seele, Opus 135a nr.9 (1914)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) - Andante F major, KV 616 (1791)

Maarten Havinga (1991) - Improvisation

Jan van Dijk (1918) - 7 pezzi per organo: VI Fuga (1948)

Louis Vierne (1870-1937) - Défilé (from Messe basse pour les défunts, Opus 62, 1934)




This concert is made possible by the support of:  Prins Bernhard CultuurfondsZabawas,

Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst, Van de Berch van Heemstede StichtingHofsteestichting and Gemeente Amsterdam (district East).


Also the Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds (renovation Fokker organ), the SNS REAAL Fonds (renovation Fokker organ) and the Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ. Show our sponsors